6th-great-grandma’s family reveals a massive load of information to explode the family tree

I’ve been waiting for my family tree to explode past 2,000 people. Ancestry.com has so many  family trees with thousands of people and I wondered when I could ring in my 2,000th person on my family tree.

While on vacation, I got quite the surprise from a professional researcher I hired a few months ago. The amount of information he found by researching my 6th-great-grandma’s family was unreal.

It took several days to plug in all the direct ancestors and distant cousins into my family tree. It grew to 2,664 people from the original 1,962 people, all thanks to detailed census records from central Russia.

I was hoping this family line would be the jackpot. Two of my great-grandpa’s sisters married men with my 6th-great-grandma’s maiden name. His godfather also carried the same last name.

So it seemed as if this would be the name to research. Not only did my family tree blossom as if it were a tree shot with Miracle Grow, I learned about two female lines of my great-grandfather. That is hardly a simple task in Russian genealogy.

It takes a lot of work to discover maiden names of women. In many Russian records, women are identified by their given name (first name) and patronymic name (middle name from the father’s first name such as Ivanovna or Vasilievna).

So it’s hard to understand the thrill of my researcher finding the full name of another 6th great-grandmother, especially one from a different village when the village name and her maiden name match. Sounds as if another interesting story will come my way when I research that line.

The other discovered maiden name of another female direct ancestor brought the family tree closer in time. The research of my 6th-great-grandma uncovered the full name of a 3rd-great-grandmother, leaving only one grandparent of my great-grandpa as a mystery.

In the end, research of my 6th-great-grandma exploded my family tree and pushed my family tree back to the early 17th and late 16th centuries for three family lines. I also learned my 10th-great-grandfather served in the great sovereign policeman service in central Russia during the 17th century.

Now, I am waiting to discover cousins online who could make the names in my family tree more complete with stories. It took four years to reach this point. My cautious way of researching won’t ever make me wonder whether growing my family tree came at the price of being filled with mistakes.

Related posts:
Don’t let this easy mistake implode your family tree
Piecing together puzzles for one name

Leave a Reply

