Interesting results with making myself a twin on Family Tree DNA

Out of curiosity, I decided to transfer my Ancestry.com DNA autosomal data to Family Tree DNA. That is nothing unusual until you know I already took the  Family Tree DNA Family Finder test.

I read on the forum for 23andme, another DNA genealogy testing company, about a guy who submitted two tests of himself and found different results. So I decided for $39 to give this experiment a try. I don’t think Family Tree DNA wants many people duplicating themselves in its database.

When I  saw my free 20 matches, I recognized all the matches from my current Family Tree DNA Family Finder test. The information given for each match was the first initial and last name, estimated relationship and amount of shared DNA data. If there were a new person in the matches, I wouldn’t be able to contact them. The e-mail addresses are not provided with the free 20 matches.

I got lured into paying $39 for the full transfer because I was promised “more than 101 matches” would be unlocked. That would mean that I would have 121 matches from my twin account. My other account has 91 matches.

The joke was on me when I finally got all my matches 48 hours later. My twin account only picked up nine more matches, not the 30 I was expecting. All of my new matches are 5th-remote cousins and have Russian and other eastern European ancestry.

One surprising theme among the duplicate matches is that those matches were slightly weaker than from my original Family Finder test. I somehow had slightly fewer DNA chromosomes in common with my mother, aunt, uncle and my other duplicate matches.

I am still annoyed that I got much fewer matches than promised, but maybe this duplicate account will pick up some great matches as time goes on. Anyone who hasn’t done the Family Finder Test but has tested through 23andme and AncestryDNA should at least try the free transfer to see the first 20 matches.

Current Family Tree DNA customers could try transferring their DNA data from 23andme and AncestryDNA for the curiosity. At $39, I think it is still worth the price for my small number of new DNA matches. The regular transfer fee of $69 is not what I’m willing to give up for a few more matches.

4 thoughts on “Interesting results with making myself a twin on Family Tree DNA

  1. Susan herczeg

    Hello, I read on some FB groups the reason there may be less matching segments and less matches. FTDNA eliminates some of the segments in the Ancestry transfers because of medical info that could be inferred from it.

  2. I had my test done at Ancestry and the composition was NOT as reported by my family. Specifically I AM SURE that my great great grandmother on my mother’s side was of Irish ancestry and equally AS SURE that my father’s father is a Cherokee! Well when I got my results from ancestry I was reported as less than 1 percent native american, and none of my european ancestry was Irish!

    Not convinced of Ancestry.com accuracy I did the free upload and free 1st 20 matches from Family Tree DNA and VIOLA one of my first two matches is of total Irish ancestry, and a few down show North Carolina/Virginia area which is traditionally Cherokee Nation. Whilst DNA is DNA ancestry.com racial break down information was ALL WRONG for me!

    You can transfer your raw data to FTDNA using this link for free https://www.familytreedna.com/autosomalTransfer?atdna=mGuGbpp1PgJxZC6kBS9UEg%3d%3d

    Please do tell if the ancestry information is more accurate with FTDNA that with Ancestry.com

    1. For me, the Ancestry DNA test worked well with my Eastern European ancestry. I have heard that Ancestry DNA had problems with picking up Native American ancestry. I don’t know if Ancestry DNA had many samples from the Native American communities.

Leave a Reply

