Three siblings go on a DNA test journey

I have read on forums and Facebook group pages about the advantages of having siblings taking the same DNA test. So I decided to test my mother and her brother and sister for my own curiosity.

With my mother’s family mainly being Russian, I decided to get everyone the Family Finder test from Family Tree DNA. Extensive genealogy research shows my maternal grandfather is 100 percent Russian and my maternal grandmother is 50 percent Russian and 50 percent German from Poland.

So here are the numbers of doing the same DNA test for me, my mother, my aunt and my uncle. I have 79 matches and I have 24 matches in common with my mother and 14 matches in common with my aunt but only 3 matches in common with my uncle.

My mother has 80 matches and she has 33 in common with her sister and 26 in common with her brother. My aunt has 76 matches and 26 in common with her brother and 33 in common with her sister. My uncle has 26 matches in common each with his two sisters.

By spending lots of money on these DNA tests, I am hoping my mother, aunt and uncle will give me stronger matches than I have. We all have a bunch of 5th-remote cousins.

My mother has matches for one 2nd-4th cousin, one 3rd-5th cousin and seven 4th-remote cousins. My aunt has matches for one 2nd-4th cousin, three 3rd-5th cousins and three 4th-remote cousins. My uncle has matches for only five 4th-remote cousins.

Naturally, the three siblings don’t match as closely for some people. It is noticeable my aunt’s 3rd-5th cousin matches are listed as 4th-remote cousins for my uncle.

For me, it is most important to get as many Russian and Ukrainian cousin matches as possible due to struggles of document-based genealogy for some family lines.

Based on information matches posted and names of matches, I believe my uncle has 10 matches with people who have Russian and Ukrainian ancestry, my mom has 18 Russian and Ukrainian ancestry matches and my aunt has 12 matches with that ancestry.

Several people need to post more information to their profiles but it is noticeable that more people with Russian and Ukrainian ancestry are taking the Family Finder test. This gives me a lot of hope for some great matches in the future, especially when Family Tree DNA keeps DNA samples for at least 25 years.

Here are the results of my mother, aunt and uncle’s ethnicity breakdowns.

lt

vt

it

Leave a Reply

