More letters on their way to Kiev

Over the summer, I was counting down the days to when archives in Kiev would reopen on Sept. 1. My researcher didn’t find information on people I know from my family tree. He has provided me with names, addresses and phone numbers of two people who could be children of my great-grandfather’s brothers.

I am going to take two more stabs at trying to find my Trunov family in Kiev. This family line is such a struggle because so many records were destroyed during WWII, no one knows a family church in Kiev and so little is known about my great-grandfather’s siblings.

Not surprisingly, my great-grandfather’s name translates into quiet. He adored his sister, Anna, so a lot is known only about her family. When he decided to write a letter to his son and daughter about his family before he died, I don’t imagine he was thinking a great-granddaughter would be reading the letter to find his siblings’ families.

So I will write again those “Dear random person with same family name, Are you related to me?” letters. The timing couldn’t be the worst. The fighting between Ukraine and Russia doesn’t probably help my situation.

But I am not waiting to write these letters. I would be mad at myself if the person in Kiev who knows the family information dies and some younger relative tells me that he/she doesn’t know anything.

I am determined to find my maternal grandmother’s cousins, who lived in two cities destroyed during WWII. There is a great story to tell about their lives and I hope sometime soon I’ll be able to tell it.

Leave a Reply

