New Russian cousins found again!

My best resource I’ve found for my family search has been Всероссийское Генеалогическое Древо (ВГД). The website’s name translates into All Russia Family Tree in English and it feels as if all Russians and Ukrainians who care about genealogy and family searches are on this forum.

I’ve found family not once, twice nor three times on this website. I can credit ВГД four times for helping me find my Russian cousins.

The man from St. Petersburg who contacted me about possibly being related to my paternal grandfather’s mother’s family finally got proof from archives that we are related.

His grandfather was a great-grand nephew of  my great-grandmother. Our common ancestors are great-great-grandparents. It will be interesting what I will learn about my great-grandmother’s family through this distant cousin.

I wouldn’t have any bragging rights about finding distant Russian cousins if I never gave in and forced myself to be comfortable on Russian language genealogy forums. I got irritated that it was “so hard” to use ВГД until I found Google Translate to make registering, reading and posting on the forum as easy as an English language forum.

I’m excited about who else I could find as I continue my journey looking for my  cousins and family who were never seen again after WWII.

Related post:

Wondering if my family tree is about to grow

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

