Waiting game begins for opening of communist-era records

Earlier this month, a guy in Kiev e-mailed me about doing research in my mom’s birthplace. I’ve had hardly any luck with Ukrainian archives.

Dimitri hasn’t e-mailed me in two years so I was curious about what made him think of me. It turns out that some communist-era census records in Kiev archives could be opened for the public soon.

I am especially interested in finding WWII records in Kiev archives. My brick wall for one great-grandfather’s family is like the wall of China. One daughter of this great-grandfather is alive but she won’t talk about life in Kiev during the war.

She says there is nothing good to remember. For me, remembering details of her uncles could help me take down this monster wall. My mother is not close to her aunt in Russia because we just made contact with her three years ago after she went missing in 1945. (see this post on finding my grand aunt)

So I need these WWII records to open so I can see what can be found on my Trunov family. My search is so far back in generations and the surname Trunov is so common that it is a real challenge to find relatives still in Kiev without new information.

I have found so many close and distant cousins but my Trunov line is one of the most challenging. I know most of my great-grandfather’s siblings’ birth dates and birthplace from Kursk Regional Archives’ records but that is all I know for most of them.

When the communist-era records open in Kiev, I am hoping Dimitri will find something on my Trunov family. It also would be great to see if anything could be found on my maternal grandfather’s family.

Now, I wait every day for an e-mail message from Dimitri to tell me which communist-era records will be opened.

4 thoughts on “Waiting game begins for opening of communist-era records

  1. Roy Batchelder

    My grandparents left Latvia in the per revolution period 1900-1905. This is the main part of my problem trying to find relatives that were left behind. My grandfather, as the story was told, changed his name making it totally impossible to trace his relatives. I was more hopeful in trying to find my grandmother’s family. I think I may have found something on Raduraksti under the name of Kathrine Pukukalns (Blumberg) under the Lutheran church records. Of course it is written in Latvian which I cannot read, but there was a surname project done and this Pukukalns showed up as a Related Surname. She was of Lutheran faith and the year matches at 1882/January. When her sister, Lena (Lina) came to the U.S. on 5/14/1908 she had an alien spelling puckahn which is pretty close to the original (Blumberg) spelling. Lena was born on 1/24/1889 in Talsen Russia. I think I found her birth record also under the Lutheran church records, but her name was Lina Anna Margaretha Blumberg. Their brother, John Bloomberg as it is spelled in the U.S. was listed under assumed name of Pukikoln which I cannot verify that as a Latvian surname. He was also of Lutheran faith on 1/6/1893 in Talsen. When I tried to read this year’s records it was in a totally different format which I could not possibly decipher, One of the common thread’s is possibly the first name of their mother Lihbe. Is this a common Latvian first name? I don’t know if I will ever be able to track down any Latvian relatives from this information. I know it was a real bad time in the country when all this was going on.  I do know that my grandfather did travel to Windau, Latvia in 1932 to visist relatives, but since he had possibly changed his name it might be impossible to trace. He had changed his name to Arthur Schmidt born in Goldingen, Russia on 1/6/1883. In the Surname project it shows that the Old Spelling (Schmidt) had Variations and Alaternate Spelling of Smits, Smite. The meaning show Smith and he was by trade a blacksmith. The only location that was common between my grandparents of Limbazi parish. I know this is a lot of information, but I was wondering if I was on the right track. I just don’t want to give up the search. It is really important to me. Thanks for listening. Linda

  2. Evelyn Valliere

    What is us in genealogy program , I’m having a heard time tracing my grandfather from hungry, now ukraine . I have the name of the old town in hungry and the new towns name in ukraine.

    1. It could be either of these services: 1. International Tracing Service- This organization, based in Germany, has a unbelievable amount of records on victims and survivors of Nazi persecutions. http://www.its-arolsen.org/en/homepage/index.html

      2. The American Red Cross Holocaust and War Victims Tracing Center- This center has been very successful in finding lost relatives. The center found my grand aunt after she was missing for 66 years. http://www.redcross.org/find-help/contact-family/holocaust-tracing

      Does this help?

      Vera

Leave a Reply

