New AncestryDNA results add confusion

I didn’t know what to expect when I heard that Ancestry.com was refining its ethnicity results for the DNA test customers.

AncestryDNA originally told me that I was 45 percent Finnish/Volga-Ural Russian, 51 percent Eastern European and 4 percent unknown. Now, I am 81 percent Europe East,  16 percent Finnish/Northern Russia, 2 percent Asia East and less than 1 percent Melanesian.

Talk about confusion. I have several family tree lines back to the 1600s and 1700s. My documented Russian ancestry comes from central Russia, northern Caucasus region and Volga-Ural Russia.

I have yet to find any ancestry from Finland or northern Russia. This Asia East ancestry could come from a far distant ancestor that I have yet to discover from Far East Russia.  The Melanesian ancestry could be meaningless.

I also have tested with Family Tree DNA, which didn’t give me any interesting information on my ancestor’s true roots. FamilyTree DNA determined I am 100 percent European, with ancestry that could be Basque, Finnish, French, Orcadian, Romanian, Russian, Sardinian, Spanish or Tuscan. That is hardly useful.

I have not tested with 23andme but it still seems AncestryDNA offers the most precise information on ancestral roots even though I cannot prove the latest results, except for East Europe. The highlighted area for East Europe covers my documented “German” ancestry from Poland, in addition to an area of Russia from where I don’t have any documented ancestors.

AncestryDNA charges $99 for its test and will likely offer a sale for the holiday season. It is worth the price if you have done enough work on your family tree or just want the information.

2 thoughts on “New AncestryDNA results add confusion

  1. Mark

    http://dna-explained.com/category/gedmatch/

    This is a link to an informative genetic genealogy blog, it explains in simple terms the different DNA tests available and how several companies generally come to their results for predicting your Ethnicity results. One article specifically mentions the first version autosomal Ancestry test and the strange phenomena of why most participants show Scandanavian ethnicity in their results.

    Scroll down to Oct 19, 2013 blog titled “Determining Ethnicity Percentages” and the next blog article from Aug 5, 2013 titled “Autosomal DNA, Ancient Ancestors, Ethnicity and the Dandelion”.
    Hope that you find this helpful, I also did the ancestry autosomal DNA testing earlier this summer.
    Mark

Leave a Reply

