Getting around missing church records to find relatives from WWII

Russian genealogy involves getting around a lot of roadblocks to find information on relatives.  There are a lot of routes to getting information when regional archives have missing records but it takes patience to figure out where to go next to find information.

I heard that some people can get information on their missing family through WWII military records. Each region of Russia has military recruitment offices. Some have one office per region and others have offices for the different neighborhoods of each region. I was curious what these offices could offer me in regards to information 57 years after WWII ended.

So I have sent letters to the military recruitment offices where my family lived in Kostroma, Kursk and Rostov regions to see if information from these offices could fill in the informational gaps at regional archive offices. I wrote that I was trying to find information on relatives to reconnect with my long-lost family and avoided using the word genealogy to guarantee responses.

So far, I got an answer from a Kostroma Region military recruitment office. Staff released information on one man carrying a great-grandmother’s maiden name from the family village. The office provided his full name, birthday, time of service and awards. Then, the last paragraph gave the first and middle name of his wife and name of his son born in 1963.

I was expecting to only get information on a relative’s military service. The information on his wife and son are an added bonus. Maybe I will find the son on Odnoklassniki.

Now, I really hope I can get an answer from a Kursk Region recruitment office. So many records are missing at the regional archives for my great-grandfather’s village and the neighborhood registry office only had information on one sibling’s family.

This has made it impossible to find my grandmother’s cousins, especially when the family name is so common. My grandmother’s sister is still alive but she hardly knows anything about her father’s family. Hopefully, in a few months, I will have an answer from Kursk to fill in the gap of information on that family.

See also- Find living Soviet WWII veterans easily

5 thoughts on “Getting around missing church records to find relatives from WWII

  1. Lori J. Selway

    I am searching for records of the WASSIL brothers : Harry Wassil, served in WW ll in the Pacific as a soldier
    from Vestaburg, Pa. William Wassil. b. 05 Jan. 1913, served as a soldier in the Pacific Theater. Elmer Wassil, b. 15 Jul. 1921 served in WW ll in the Pacific Theater, and was a cook. Lawrence Wassil, b. 16 Aug 1926 & served in the Navy. All lived in Vestaburg, Pa..When I try to search I always go to Ancestry and they require a membership…………..Can anyone help me ?

    Lori

    1. ken stevens

      HI Lori, I am looking for information on the Trefanoff family.. I found a post made by you in 1999 looking for the same information and was wondering if you could share what you know as I come from the Trefanoff family. Please contact me if you have any information at ken@thesurf.ca

  2. Lori J. Selway

    Well that was a quick reply….you are a generious Geni, who finds great happiness in helping others.
    Merry Russian Christmas and Blessings of Christ in the New Year.
    Thank you

    Lori

Leave a Reply

