Putting some hope on military records to solve a family mystery

I am completely stuck on figuring out what happened to the siblings of a great-grandfather. Church records show my great-grandfather was at least one of 12 children. Ten years of church records are missing from 1880-1919 so probably there were even more siblings.

I contacted the registry office for the family village’s neighborhood to see whether I could get more information on the siblings’ families in communist-era records. The registry office found the family of my great-grandfather’s favorite sister, Anna. The office released the full names and birthdates of Anna, her husband, two daughters and a son.

The youngest daughter was born in 1939, the year World War II started. The family lived in the Kursk Region, which faced a massive battle with the German army. The battle “remains both the largest series of armored clashes… and the costliest single day of aerial warfare in history.  It was the final strategic offensive the Germans were able to mount in the east. The resulting decisive Soviet victory gave the Red Army the strategic initiative for the rest of the war,” according to Wikipedia.

My great-grandfather’s youngest daughter recalled that she saw his parents in the city for the neighborhood before the war. I contacted the same registry office to see whether my Trunov relatives’ information could be found in the city’s archives. The office could not locate any records on the family.

Then, I thought I had some hope in finding Trunov relatives from the family village when I saw a newspaper advertisement online. These two people were listed with their birthdates for abandoning land in the village.

I e-mailed ОАСР УФМС России по Курской области, the migration service for the region, to see whether the office could find their current addresses. The two people in their 70s and 80s are not registered in the region so they died or moved. The office could not find Anna’s children, either.

My last option in finding information on my relatives is pursing military records from World War II, which is known as the Great Patriotic War to those who lived in the Soviet Union. Soon, I will mail a letter to the Военный Комиссариат for the family village’s neighborhood, hoping that the military office can tell me about my Trunov relatives who served in the war or which office that releases the information.

It would be great to know what role my relatives played in a major battle of World War II and how they defended their homeland from the German invaders. A lot of Americans can talk about their grandfathers’ service in the war. I can only say one grandfather served in the Soviet Army and managed to talk his way out of a German army POW camp and that his brother also served in the war.

I do not know the first names of my great-granduncle’s sons but the Russian tradition of using patronymic names makes my search a little easier. I know the birthdates of my great-granduncles so I know the range of years their sons could have been born in order for them to serve in the war. A lack of information inspires my creativity.

I will be pleased with any amount of information the Военный Комиссариат can offer. Every piece of information I find will eventually help me solve this mystery.

Leave a Reply

