Knowledge worth the four figures

After two months of waiting, I have finally received the results of research on my Trunov ancestors. The professional researcher I hired found records to push back my family tree to my 10th great-grandfather, born in 1620.

The information I now have on my Trunov family is a big thrill for so many reasons. When my researcher studied church records on the family from 1880-1919, the results were so disappointing. Only 10 years of records could be found. So much information was lost from war-related and communist-era destruction.

Now, I have my first family tree extending into the early 17th century, something I never imagined for Russian ancestry. It is disappointing that the researcher could not find the maiden names of so many women who married to my direct ancestors. But I do have the full names of my 6th great-grandmother and her father. Their surname is familiar to me. My great-grandfather’s sister married into the same family and so did her second cousin.

This new crop of information is more than a bunch of names. I know my family previously came from Orel in western Russia, where they served in the czar’s military. Hopefully, I will soon learn about the significance of this military service after I posted on forum.vgd.ru for help in finding more information. I am hoping I can go back further in time as I search for more information online.

Thankfully, I have a wonderful researcher in Kursk, Russia. He typed up all the birth, marriage and death information for each direct ancestor and their siblings in one file and retyped the documents found line-by-line. I use Promt to read the Russian material in English. The researcher also photographed all the documents found on my ancestors. It is unreal I can see a document on my 9th great-grandfather from 1697 on my computer. All this cost $1,000, a sum well worth for everything found.

Now, I am waiting for EWZ files on my Tyunin family from national archives in College Park, Maryland. Apparently, I have German ancestry that was never discussed in my family. Before I can study my Kovalev and Tyunin lines in Kursk, I need to know what my great-grandparents knew about their ancestry. Hopefully, I can have these lines researched back to the early 17th century or learn where in Prussia the families originated.

After seeing how far my Russian ancestry can be traced back, I am anxious to see what can be found on my other two family lines from Kursk. I thought for many years that I would not know anything about so many of my Russian ancestors. I will not be lucky enough to find everything I want on every family line but the door is open for me to find plenty.

Leave a Reply

