Keeping sanity while I wait, wait and wait even more

I thought this past holiday season that I would get a bunch of letters from Russia. I have been waiting forever for some new information to keep me motivated about my family search. But that Christmas wish never came true so I keep waiting and waiting for the flood of mail that supposedly is coming my way.

During the night when I wake up for a random reason, I check my e-mail, hoping that some office in Ukraine or Russia has some news for me. I check my e-mail probably too many times every day. I have three e-mail accounts because my darn Verizon account has problems with foreign messages. I send some messages through my Hotmail account that has zero problems with foreign languages and other messages from my mail.ru account. With having a mail.ru account, I had been hoping I would have better luck with getting responses from Russian archives.

Then when I know the offices are closed in Russia and Ukraine, I impatiently wait for the postal mail to arrive. Most days I catch the delivery person before he or she gets a chance to put the mail in the box. The postal employees must think I am crazy. I am an impatient person as you can tell.

Waiting for letters from Russia is painful. Sometimes, it takes a month for my letters to arrive and then another two or three months for responses to arrive in my mailbox. Not all Russian archives have e-mail, but those who have e-mail sometimes do not answer my messages. Other Russian offices have e-mail but they send their responses by postal mail, making the process very annoying to me.

To keep my sanity, I have created two lists- one for things I am waiting on and another for things I can work on. These lists keep me focused and positive. I know several things are on their way early this year.

My to-do list reminds me that there is still plenty of information and relatives to find. I have made major accomplishments in the past two years. I want to find every scrap of information available. With so many relatives dead, I have to depend on archives and other written material to fill in my family’s stories.

When my lists cannot keep me occupied in my boredom, I write in my journal. My mother recommended that I keep a journal to document my successes and frustrations. Hopefully, my two sons will read my journal and realize the work it took to find family information and relatives. I have restrained myself from all the swearing I would like to do in my journal that my sons will one day read. My sons will probably wonder why I bothered to spend so much time and money on my family search when it frustrated me so much.

In the end, I know I am making great friendships with my cousins abroad and will have some great places and relatives to visit in Russia and Ukraine when I am older.

3 thoughts on “Keeping sanity while I wait, wait and wait even more

  1. Chris Bechtold

    Hi Vera;
    I am surprized to see you commuting with individuals in the USSR. It seems that you are having some response. Regardless of how little.
    I would like to be able to get on board with this research. On my mother’s side, requiring the happenings from 1883 to 1930 for all of her family, including Hausauer, Beiber, and Gast. One thing I do know is that her Dad lost his life returning home as a soldier of the Czar’s army. Thanks to the revelutionary forces. I received word from the archive in Switzerland that he was not a prisoner of world war 1 . One thing I’m sure of is his life was taken on his return to Russia. This was a common practice for all non russian soldiers serving the czar. The area is Glickstall, Bergdorf, and Klienneudorf, Cherson part of the Ukraine.
    There are two organizations in the USA that claim they are translating material from there but none ever shows. Unfortionately I may not live long enough to get it into the book I want to create for my family. Thanks for your E-mail
    My name is Chris Bechtold at bechtol5@telus.net

    1. Chris,

      I will try to help you as much as I can. My father’s mother’s relatives were Don Cossacks so I understand your family’s background. More people are researching Cossacks so there is hope for more information.

      Vera

Leave a Reply

